Giraffe Bread 2: Havana Nights

January 27, 2012

Update from: Giraffe Bread

Chris King Sainsbury's letter

For those who missed it the first time around.

I almost feel like I should be writing the sequel to some saccharine, feel-good summer blockbuster here. Lily, Chris and ‘Giraffe Bread’ are back with a vengence. To date, I’ve seen just one of the Facebook groups dedicated to my friend go from 100 to 2,800 members in the space of 24 hours. One picture has been shared on Facebook somewhere in the region of 50,000 times and ‘liked’ several times that number. The Huffington Post and The Sun, as well as numerous blogs, have picked up and written about the story – despite the fact that it’s months old. I think this is fantastic and it may well be the case that this will be bigger than before. Stay tuned.

So far, there have been some spectacular reactions, some propositions and some declarations. Despite seeing a lot of the hype unfold firsthand – I spend a lot of time on Social Media at work – my favourite response so far was on this very blog. ‘Jenny’ posted:

And then you have the single women who read his cute little reply and just want to perk up his day the way he has theirs ;)

Well Chris, I reckon you’re sorted for a story to tell on first dates for the rest of your life. But remember: With great power, comes very little responsibilty.

GEEZ YER CHAT