Giraffe Bread

June 17, 2011

Who is Chris King (aged 27 & 1/3), Customer Manager?  That seems to be the question running all over Twitter this afternoon.  I’ve been watching with some interest, mainly because Chris King is a pretty good friend of mine and I’m beginning to fear for his safety in a very real way.  Maybe I should start at the beginning:

Chris works for Sainsbury’s Customer Careline, answering letters and emails that the company receives.  Mostly, this is a job which deals with complaints, anger and hysteria from irate customers and the odd prankster (it’s a free phone number).  However, last week Chris replied to a letter from a young girl, Lily.

originally posted on threescore.wordpress.com

Chris, being the lovely chap that I know him to be, responded in kind with a letter which has captured the hearts of several twitter fans and bloggers.

originally posted on threescore.wordpress.com

I must admit, I don’t really get Twitter.  Very few people are sufficiently of interest to me that I care about the minutae of their lives.  In fact, at the time of writing, I can only think of one: me.  I also struggle to believe that strangers out there in the land of the cyberwebz have any curiosity about what I ate for breakfast.  Having said that, I’ve been assured that the story is ‘trending’ and being ‘re-tweeted’ at an alarming rate.  Chris’s friends (myself included, I hope) have also gotten in on the act to see how far we might be able to take this.  Will it make the 6 o’clock news?  I’m unlikely to find out – I don’t own a television – but I’ll be scouring the morning papers tomorrow.

Choice quotes from tweets so far include declarations of admiration, love, a proposal and even some jealous infighting.  One tweeter imagined that Chris would be ‘fit and interested in animals’ while another was sure that he’s be the kind of guy your mum would love.  Some people even questioned the existence of such a person.  Some wondered if the whole thing was a marketing ploy.

[For a less jaded world view, check out Shinybiscuit’s blog here: http://shinybiscuit.blogspot.com/2011/06/lovely-letters.html]

Well, who is the real Chris King (aged 27 & 1/3)?  Just a bored Glaswegian sitting at a desk, answering your letters and emails, who hasn’t quite lost his last ounce of humanity (unlike the majority of call centre employees)?  Maybe… or maybe we’re looking at the next Oprah?  Could a TV deal follow? Or maybe – more likely, in my humble opinion – the next victim of an obsessed stalker?  Only time will tell.

That’s where we stand as of now.  I’ll keep you posted.

RGK (aged 21 & 3/4).

5 Responses to “Giraffe Bread”

  1. bobmitchellinthe21stcentury Says:

    I know Chris as well, was having a beer with him Saturday night. He’s changed since all this happened. Different guy completely.


  2. […] blogs have also taken up the story. A Work in Progress, Christopher England, ReelGoneKid (a friend of Mr King’s), and Shiny Biscuit (a more sentimental view), Law Actually, […]

  3. Jenny Says:

    And then you have the single women who read his cute little reply and just want to perk up his day the way he has theirs ;)


  4. […] story and bigger image here.) Note the store manager included his age (27 and 1/3). Love that.  Sure, Sainsbury’s has a […]


GEEZ YER CHAT